The core curriculum is based on the UK National Curriculum, The Early Years Foundation Stage, which covers the development of children from birth to 60 months. With the addition of Arabic and French embedded into the curriculum. This is also enhanced by the inclusion of good practice from around the world and incorporates many different child development theories, such as Piaget and Montessori and Reggio Emilio.

We consider each child to be special and our staff provide a stimulating learning program based on each child’s individual learning needs.

The poem below provides a good description of the varied curriculum made available to the children of Child’s Play.

I like to look and listen
I need to touch and try
I want to smell and sample
And ask the question Why?
Give the time to wonder
To imagine and pretend
Space to run and bend and stretch
Share secrets with a friend
I want to hold and handle
I must play to understand
For I need to know so many things
To find out who I am!

Areas of Development within the EYFS curriculum

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
    • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)
    • Communication and Language (CL)
    • Physical Development (PD)
    • Literacy (L)
    • Mathematics(M)
    • Knowledge and Understanding of the World(UOW)
    • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)
  • Messy Play Day
  • Harvest Party
  • National Day
  • Posh Paws